Beginning

Sunset Valley

Sunset Valley is a small coastal town famed for its sunny beaches, down home hospitality, and rich history. Or at least that’s what the brochures down at the Chamber of Commerce say. The inhabitants know that the glossy pictures of happy families swimming and tanning and playing volleyball are as fake as the smile of a father who got yet another ugly tie for Father’s Day.

The real Sunset Valley, the rotted wood beneath the gilding, is the home of many ghosts.

Koffi

They wander around the graveyard at night, their mutterings and laughter floating on the night breeze.

lots o' ghosties

Only the bravest of the townsfolk venture to the graveyard at night. There are reports of vast hidden chambers and strange monsters beneath the mausoleum, but the few fools who have gone exploring are not capable of rational conversation when they return. If they return.

run away run away

Occasionally a poor confused soul will try to run away, perhaps desiring to go home to missed loved ones or to check on the sink one more time.

DEATH

Unfortunately for them, this gray limbo realm has a shepherd. Nothing escapes his notice, and all errant lambs are brought back to the fold.

Well – mostly all. Occasionally, maybe once in a century, someone manages to come back.

Lilith

Next:Morning

Β 

Β 

This entry was posted in Valley and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Beginning

  1. Ning says:

    Whoa! This is.. I’m lost for words. How creative, what a great way to start a legacy! I have no idea what’s coming up next and I’m really eager to find out. Update soon!!!

    Like

  2. Tina says:

    Wow, I could not resist checking this out. I really love your writing style. It seems this story will be very a good read!

    Like

  3. newhavengossip says:

    This was an awesome start! Great writing!

    Like

  4. natashamay says:

    great start to a legacy. Glad I started reading after it had been up a bit. The suspense would have killed me otherwise!

    Like

  5. R. says:

    Those shots almost make me want to buy TS3. Almost. Anyhow, I love where this is going and your writing is good. πŸ˜€ Can’t wait to see what happens next.

    Like

  6. moonshadowed says:

    Wow! Your narrative is very gripping! I wanted to leave that comment before scooting on to the next bit.

    Awesome start!

    Like

  7. WOW! You are very talented! I keep starting legacies but have nothimg to say.

    You’re wonderful + I can’t wait to read more!

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Wow, thank you! And I have plenty of one chapter starts too – you just have to keep trying until you find the story that wants to be told.

      I will try to have the next update out fairly soon. πŸ™‚

      Like

  8. kansine says:

    Woooow… such a cool start to the story! Plus you’re an excellent writer! πŸ˜€

    Like

  9. Haydies says:

    Hehe, reading your “About Me” page, and seeing that you are an ex-WoW player (like myself), I couldn’t help but wonder if you were a fan of the Undead race after reading this hehe…

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      I do actually quite like the undead race. I tried to powerlevel an undead lock right before WotLK, but she only made it to the mid-twenties. Sigh.

      Also, I made a legacy founder that I might use (after Valley, of course) for a legacy on another address I’ve registered here and her coloring was vaguely inspired by some of the color choices for the undead race.

      My main was a gnome lock, though.

      Like

  10. carnaxa says:

    I love your narrative hook. It definately reels you in and keeps you there. I am going to catch up on all the chapters over the next few days. I always love it when I stumble across a interesting story.

    Like

  11. iamberry2 says:

    Awesomeness! I have been meaning to come check this out. Its great! πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. kama674 says:

    This is ……. awsome! A great start!

    Like

  13. Angelzzzdaydream0 says:

    OHHHHH! I love the way you have started this out! It’s so spooky! I luv a great mystery! Can’t wait to read more! =o)

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Thank you. πŸ™‚ The pictures do get better as you go on – actually I tried to reuse one from Legend in the update I’m working on at the moment, and it looked wrong and out of place and bad and I had to go and re-edit it. I’ve learned a lot.

      And yeah, it is spooky and a mystery. And a lot of other things. πŸ™‚

      Like

  14. worsiedog says:

    This is awesome! Your pics are amazing, what an interesting story idea! Can’t wait to read some more..

    Like

  15. newfallssims says:

    I’ve just found this site and great start!

    Like

  16. Hey just started reading this and so far I like what I see. Am looking forward to reading the rest to catch up on all the chapters I have missed. I can’t believe I didn’t start reading this soon! Great job!

    Like

  17. jenssims says:

    awesome writing, great beginning! πŸ˜€

    *from the author of fanged hawt studs story*

    Like

  18. jenssims says:

    lol, me too. It’s crazy!!! XD

    Like

  19. Queenio says:

    looks awesome how did u think of this

    Like

  20. Katrea says:

    Haha Lovely beginning. That last shot was priceless.
    (I got around to reading this sooner than I thought πŸ˜› )

    Like

  21. lilac16 says:

    Wow! Fantastic! πŸ™‚ will definitely be keeping tabs on this legacy…wonderful way to start it. I haven’t seen anything that creative in a long time…

    Like

  22. marsar2 says:

    Hi, just dropping by to tell you I’m currently reading this amazing story. I just knew I had to, at some point or another πŸ˜€

    I will probably be wanting to post some random comments as I read along, if that’s alrigth with you. I mean, being such an old story and all…

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Yay!!! πŸ™‚ And of course I don’t mind new comments and insights on Valley!

      I am trying to update Moonfall. It’s just going slow, is all, plus I went and played WoW for a few months. Still playing WoW, but trying to get back to work on Moonfall too.

      Like

  23. I am already hooked! I wish I could read more but it’s getting late here.

    I love this line: “the glossy pictures of happy families swimming and tanning and playing volleyball are as fake as the smile of a father who got yet another ugly tie for Father’s Day.” I think it’s neat how you selected happy, sunny Sunset Valley as your starting point. Many Sims stories start in Sunset Valley, mine included, but I’m always interested in the seedy underbelly and the things that we don’t see. I’m planning to try and explore that the next time around in my next segment of Kass’s story.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Haha, I cringe hard at that line now.

      I started Valley when Sims 3 was new and my only choices were Sunset Valley or Riverview, so…yeah.

      I don’t know if there’s much of a seedy underbelly in this story, but there are plenty of things that you don’t see. πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • “cringe?” I liked it. Sometimes I come across my own word choice and wonder what I was thinking. Yeah, I guess given Sunset Valley or Riverview are your only choices that makes sense. I’m looking forward to reading more.

        Like

Leave a Reply

