Static

She's dead. Jim.

Jason couldn’t get the image out of his head.

Everybody had been looking at him, expecting the whole stereotypical rookie puking thing. But she’d looked so quiet and peaceful and there wasn’t even any blood.

Suddenly Lilith's head rotates 360 degrees and Jason's like WTF man, WTF.

Lilith swung her legs around and pushed herself off the bed.

Jason watched her, feeling quite uncomfortable now that he had delivered his news. He’d just ran off without resolving anything last night and she was obviously still upset. But surely she didn’t mean it about giving back his key.

He looked her in the eyes and decided that he wouldn’t put up a fight if she insisted. What sort of demon had gotten into her?

then she starts puking up green peas and speaking in dark demonic tongues

She stood there silently and glared at him with glowing demonic eyes.

He was really feeling uncomfortable now.

“We got the call late last night. One of the janitors found her in the break room.”

He stopped and left a little space for her to say something. Anything. Even if it was “I hate you and get out of my house before a janitor finds you on the floor.”

She just stood there, looking at him and leaving all his spaces unfilled.

and Jason's like whoa dude, wtf

The empty space yawned wider and wider until he couldn’t take it anymore. Taking a deep breath, he leapt into the chasm.

“I’m sorry for breaking in on you like this, but I thought you should hear it from a friend before you went to work.”

and Lilith is like I will eat your soul, anointed one.

She continued to just stand there on the edge of the silence, staring down at him.

Okay, at this point it was just ridiculous.

“Look, Lilith, I’m sorry for whatever I did that made you upset. But come on, this is important. It’s not really the time for the whole silent treatment passive-aggressive thing.”

so then Jason screams like a little girl

“I appreciate that you came to tell me my boss is dead. I really do, from the bottom of my heart. Now can you please get out of the way so I can get dressed? I have an appointment.”

and Lilith goes all - want soul num nums nao

“No, Lilith, I will not get out of the way. Not until you respond in some sane way to said dead boss.”

and Jason screams like a little girl again and runs away really fast

“What do you want? It’s sad, I’ll miss her, I think the best way to honor her memory is to do the story that she assigned to me, and if you will get out of the way I can get right on that. Is that good enough for you? Will you leave me alone now?”

but Lilith uses her dark demonic powers and teleports right in front of him

“No, that’s not good enough. Lilith, Shannon was killed.”

and Jason's like, dude, I must be tripping on some good stuff

“And considering the timing, it’s possible that the motive is related to the story you’re working on. You could be in danger too. Don’t you get it? This is serious.”

and then Lilith eats his soul

“All right. Why don’t you tell me about it? While I change.”

and she licks her lips and says yum

Jason was grateful for any sort of halfway sane response and stepped out of the way. As she opened a dresser drawer he started to talk.

thus ends the sad tale of our Jason and his Lilith

“I watched the security tape from the break room. By the way, that is the most soul-suckingingly sad break room I’ve ever seen. I feel sorry for you having to work there.”

heh, soul sucking

“Shannon came in to the break room at 9:15.”

magical killing juice!

“She made herself some juice and everything seemed normal.”

have you got some killing that needs to be done?

“She sat at the table and drank it. I’m not sure how the chair supported her weight. Not that she was heavy or anything, but man. I guess the newspaper industry must be having a hard time. Couldn’t you guys afford better furniture?”

but you don't think you'd like always being on the run?

Lilith snorted and rolled her eyes as she pulled out a blouse.

“Can we skip the commentary on the interior decorating?”

then try magical killing juice

Jason sighed. “All right. Okay, so she finished the juice and stood up to go, but then she stumbled a bit and held her hand to her head.”

we make killing fun!

“She started to walk back to the juice bar but then she stopped and made some odd gestures.”

All rights reserved Landgraab Industries Inc.  Not responsible for any illegal uses of product.  Product may cause irritation of the bowels, dry mouth, and sudden death.

“She held her hands to her throat like she was choking on something.”

do not bounce magical killing juice

“Then she collapsed on the floor. We’re not sure if the exact time of death yet though.”

omg, different clothes again!

Lilith finished changing and closed the drawer.

Jason watched her, wondering what she was thinking. She hadn’t said anything else about returning the key. She hadn’t said much at all.

dun dun dun

“I did notice something odd on the tape. I had been awake for over 30 hours by that point, though.”

Jason’s stomach clenched as he thought of the hours between the last time he saw Lilith and the call from the station. But he wouldn’t think about that right now, not here in her house with her looking at him.

“If you squint just right there’s a shadow at the juice bar at 8:45, half an hour before Shannon came in. It’s only there for a second and I don’t even know if it’s real. It looks like a man with dark hair and wearing a sweater.”

it's way past bedtime

Lilith turned towards him and bit her lower lip.

“A sweater, huh?”

Was that a hint of fear he saw in her eyes?

but I think I'm nearly done

“Yeah, a sweater. Why, does that ring a bell?”

Suddenly he felt his own hint of fear.

and you know I have to keep up the tradition of being earlier than I predicted with updates

“No, it’s just weird, you know. Like, what would a shadowy figment of your imagination need with a sweater? Now if you’ll excuse me, I have an appointment at the library. You can let yourself out.”

I had some music in my head and was trying to figure out what it was - turns out it was Sims 3 buy mode music.

He watched her walk away, his hint of fear growing.

He could deal if she hated him. He would live if she never wanted to see him again – as long as she was alive and safe and happy.

He knew that Lilith hadn’t been happy for quite some time. And he was beginning to worry about the safe and alive part.

ooh, the last image is the first image.  I am a strange loop.  Also - yep, Jim, she's still dead.

He saw Shannon again in his mind, lying there so quiet and still.

He imagined Lilith in her place, and his heart howled with pain. He would not let that happen. No matter what he had to do. Even if he had to make her so mad that she would never forgive him.

Previous: Nightmare
Next: Breakdown
This entry was posted in Valley and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Static

  1. Hrootbeer says:

    Excellent update. I feel for Jason. I liked the flashback quality of the screenshots as Jason describes the security tape. It is a wonderful story telling device. Lilith doesn’t seem to realize the danger she’s in.

    Like

  2. tipix7 says:

    Security cameras are awesome. Great update!

    Like

  3. LeapsBarnes says:

    Great job with the security tape bits. Very interesting.

    Like

  4. Brigid Keely says:

    This is a Legacy intro? Holy CRAP am I impressed. I look forward to reading more!

    Like

  5. Jami Clearwater says:

    sweetness. This is really good!

    Like

  6. Gayl says:

    First of all those security camera shots were excellent! But the mystery, the tension is palpable. Lilith’s composure through Jason’s explanation was eerie. I kept expecting her to fall apart at some point or at least crack a little.

    Look forward to the next part!

    Like

  7. madithekilljoy says:

    “Not terribly exciting”? I genuinely loved this chapter. Absolutely wonderful!

    Like

  8. mandy347 says:

    I love how you’re altering the images. What program do you use to do it?

    Like

  9. scibbirishm says:

    This is amazing. Your writing style, and you’re not even into the actual legacy yet. And the graphics you provide to illustrate the story.
    I applaud how much effort you’re putting into a little – but long – challenge.

    Like

  10. nuclearday says:

    Good as always. I’m very much enjoying your creative screenshots – the security camera and such. Very nice work, very polished.

    Like

  11. Andrew says:

    Yep! Just like nuclearday said good as always. Can’t wait for the next chapter!

    Like

  12. Rusalka says:

    Your story is always such an excellent read. Great chapter! Salivating for more, soon!

    (a.k.a. arborfamilylegacy.wordpress.com)

    Like

  13. wildchild453 says:

    Great update. Lilith did not wake up the same person who went to sleep, thats for sure

    Like

  14. Ashley says:

    Love the story! Can’t wait for the next update!

    Like

  15. Ashlyn says:

    Love, Love, LOVED IT! =D

    Like

  16. man this is incredibly riveting!

    I laughed really hard though as my computer lagged for a moment while the pics were uploading + I saw the caption of the first one, “she’s dead jim”

    Like

  17. CK says:

    Ahh, this is good stuff. The captions make me laugh long time. 😀 This is a legacy? Doesn’t seem like one – in a good way. It’s truly original.
    Oh, and I like the whole ‘camera’ effect goin’ on in the screenshots. 🙂
    (PS. I have a blog and I would really appreciate it if you checked it out. It’s not a legacy. http://kylieplusthree.wordpress.com/ )

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Thank you again. 🙂 And yeah – it did start out as a legacy prologue but at this point it’s pretty safe to say that it’s not a legacy anymore.

      I’ll be happy to check out your blog. 🙂

      Like

      • CK says:

        Oh, and I just noticed Jason looks frighteningly like one of my Sims, Carson. Weirddd!

        Like

        • medleymisty says:

          Well, err – Jason is the last sim in the bin. I didn’t really think he’d be that big a character when I made him – I think my idea was that he’d basically just be in the breakfast scene and we’d never see him again.

          Like

          • CK says:

            Unsure whether this was a reply to me or not, but I’m just going to make the assumption it was and answer it, risking personal embarrassment. 😀

            Anyway, on that note, Carson was a randomized Sim, I believe. Maybe I did accidentally pull him from the bin, but I thought I just rolled the dice to make him. Or maybe when you randomize you can get sims from the bin…? S’pose it doesn’t matter.

            Like

  18. Ambree says:

    This story is amazing, I just started reading it, so I have some catching up to do. But, so far…I love what you’re doing with the pictures, the storytelling is awesome, and wow, just really great work! I can’t wait to read more, and I’m anxious to find out just what happened to the Morrigans.

    Like

  19. Sara says:

    In the nightmare one:
    I felt like I was behind Lilith! Amazing job just amazing. It kind of freaked me out. That girl, the shots just amazing. This would make such a great movie!

    Like

  20. Sara says:

    Im worried for some reason. I dont want Lilith to get hurt. OMG This is seriously a legacy?! It is like a movie instead. I think I know what that shadow is.

    Like

  21. Samantha says:

    “He stopped and left a little space for her to say something. Anything. Even if it was “I hate you and get out of my house before a janitor finds you on the floor.” ”

    I laughed at that.

    Like

  22. Ah, Lilith is a true journalist! Putting the story before her own feelings, getting the best scoop so that the paper can come to life with the latest news. I feel sorry for Jason, though. Poor fellow. I couldn’t imagine him being able to handle Shannon’s death if there had been blood and all. You know, that whole “rookie puking thing.” 😉

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Yeah, I feel sorry for Jason too. *resisting urge to post spoilery things*

      I just wanted to say thanks again for making your way through it and commenting as you go. It really does mean a lot to me. 🙂

      Like

  23. annielambert says:

    In the “but Lilith uses her dark demonic powers and teleports right in front of him” picture, I keep expecting Jason to say, “Oh, no she didn’t!”

    Like

  24. kama674 says:

    What a great twist! I’m wondering did the ghosts from Lilith’s nigtmare killed Shanonn?

    Like

  25. J says:

    nice surveillance tape editing, looks legit

    Like

  26. Katrea says:

    :O Lilith? Are you in there? lol. It appears that the nightmare Lilith had affected her more than I originally thought. It’s almost as if she’s possessed. However, it’s Jason’s POV so we can’t really tell what is going on in Lilith’s mind.
    It’s easy to see that Jason truly cares for Lilith because he’s putting her happiness above his own. It’s very endearing.
    Is that Seth we see in that last camera shot? *gasp* Evil spirits!

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      OMG.

      OMG.

      You are like the most perfect reader ever, and you’re totally getting everything as you read the story. Nightmare was indeed a crossing of a threshold, and it changed Lilith.

      And yeah, rereading Static made me happy that I get to write with Jason again soon. He really does love Lilith.

      That was Seth, yes! 😉

      Like

  27. lilac16 says:

    Beautifully written! I love Jason! ❤ He love Lilith so muchhhh, it's kinda sad, but cute.

    Like

  28. I think Jason really cares for Lilith and she’s pretty much shutting him out. I thought her reaction to Shannon’s death was a little strange. Everyone processes shock and grief differently though. I hope she starts being nice to Jason again though. He doesn’t deserve all her hostility, but then again, they’ve been drifting for awhile, I think, right? So maybe she’s ready to move on and just doesn’t know how to say it. The shadow… I just know it’s Seth. I mean, the sweater… it’s got to be him, right? This is getting creepier by the minute. I’m hooked.

    Like

Leave a Reply

