Help

the first bit is textless again

I figure it provides a nice bit of balance with the previous update

lots of text will be coming soon, though

yay for text!?

I got a new kitten

her name is Luna

she needs a lot of attention

which means less time to work on story

but I will try to get out at least one update a week

heh, Seth

oh noes, text about to start!

maybe.  Actually I think it might be best to start just a wee bit later.

one more textless picture than Trip, but it seemed necessary to show her leaving the bedroom and going downstairs.

omg text yay!

“I see you’re awake.”

Lilith said that she doesn't quite feel like talking yet

real text starts here.  omg omg omg

“I hope you don’t mind. I get so cold in the evening. Part of being old, I suppose. But you wouldn’t care about that, would you?”

I might actually get this out today, lol.  It goes faster when Lilith doesn't want to talk.

Cornelia actually painted that portrait.

“Oh yes, that’s my late husband Mortimer. It doesn’t really do him justice, you know. He was quite a looker. I suppose I should get it framed, but you know how it is. There’s always other things that need to be done first and eventually the things you meant to do get lost by the wayside.”

and Lilith breaks - update with plenty of text coming as soon as I can get it out

“Good to meet you. I’m Bella Goth.”

Previous: Trip
Next: Fog
This entry was posted in Valley and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Help

  1. Ning says:

    Ooh! Sneaky, ain’t you! 😉 I was checking ‘Trip’ in case you replied my comment there, and I saw this! 8D

    Did Lilith just slept in Bella Goth’s house? I’m pretty dumb, so I can’t get the hidden messages in this one. 😛 Looking forward to the next update! ^^

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      I’ll explain that in the next update – which I’m about to go work on some more. Took plenty of pictures and even wrote a three paragraph caption for the first picture last night. 🙂 See, I’m not getting lazy and the next update will be full of text.

      Basically she wasn’t in the best condition when she got to the Goth house and my Bella is rather nice and caring and so yeah, she let her have some rest. But Lilith doesn’t rest easy these days, and so she had a bit of a nightmare.

      And you aren’t dumb. There is a reason why I’m going to wait and officially announce it as a double update when I get the next one up, because they really sort of go together and the next one will help explain this one and everything.

      If John will babysit the kitten today, I could possibly have the next update out tonight. I am about to get started on it at 9 a.m. after all. The kitten makes sure I can’t sleep in on weekends.

      She somehow got out of the bedroom earlier and I heard some hissing before I saw her and realized what had happened. Nothing bad happened, though – our other kitties haven’t quite accepted her yet, but they’d never hurt her.

      Like

  2. catherinesims3 says:

    OK. You know the drill. Squee! Squee! Ghost Ghost Ghost! OMG!

    I almost managed to have a serious thought already, so hopefully, I’ll be back soon.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Heh. 🙂 I’m glad you like it even if it is very light on the text. But I’m not getting lazy. Lilith just really wasn’t capable of talking – poor girl is very traumatized and not in touch with reality at the moment.

      Like

  3. catherinesims3 says:

    Yes, I did like it. But you tricked me! Did you trick me on purpose, or was it just my spaziness? See, when I opened it up, I was thinking: “ZOMG, what are Lilith and Bella gonna say to each other?” I hurried through to find out. At the end, I was thinking: “Eeeeh, they didn’t really say anything at all . . . . WAIT A MINUTE . . . what was Lilith doing passed out at the Goth house?!?” Then, I went back and looked at the pics properly and realized what I was really seeing. Very nicely done!

    I feel sorry for poor Lilith. Things are really getting bad with her. Ghosts on the street in broad daylight, passing out at other people’s houses. Poor chicky.

    Well done on Bella’s costume! It reminded me very much of the polyester outfits my elderly aunts wear when they have company over.

    Oh, and I loved the bit when Bella asked Lilith if she’d mind the fire. I could imagine Lilith thinking: “Argh, no more fires, please!”

    And I really, really, really want some pizza. Sniff.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Heh – I’m actually writing captions about the fire for the next update at the moment. I even took a picture of them from right behind the fire so you see them through the flames.

      And yeah, I am actually rather proud of Bella’s outfit. It had to be red of course, and I think it’s fairly classy and something that a nice elderly wealthy person might wear. I figured she’d give up on the dresses past a certain age and could definitely see elder Bella in a nice pair of slacks.

      You’ll see them talking quite a bit – this will take at least two updates, possibly more. Bella has a lot to say.

      And I had some pizza (bwahahahaha!), so now my brain has calories to write with (I freaked John out the first time I told him I was eating for two, heh – but really, I go around saying, “Oh, this has protein, that’ll help me write.”) and I really really want to get this one out, so back to work.

      Like

  4. catherinesims3 says:

    Ooooh that picture through the flames should be neat! I noticed yesterday if you scroll in really close to the big fountain in the park in Sunset Valley, you can see through the water, which I thought would also be a neat-o effect if you had someone drowning or something. I have now read your update . . . mmm . . . six times, I think, so I shall stop now and get back to work on my own Simmies. LOL.

    Like

  5. Rebecca says:

    Good use of pictures m’dear! A nice surprise indeed and wonderful way to tell a story. Text isn’t always needed – sometimes it’s best to keep it simple. Not everyone gets that but you do! I’ll keep following your lead girl. 😀

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Aww, thanks. 🙂 Yeah, I do try to go for the show don’t tell less is more thing, and I’ve always seen Sim stories as a visual medium more than as full text stories with the occasional illustration. Which yeah, back in the day I was rather…emphatic…about that. But I’ve seen some great stories recently in the full text style, and that’s helped me open my mind a bit.

      Also my artistic integrity said it was okay, and it was right – I had total writer’s block until I published this update, because I knew that was the perfect place to stop story-wise. Once I published it the writer’s block was completely broken and I got right to work on the next update and it’s coming along just fine.

      I’ll reply to your email after I finish the next update. 🙂

      Like

  6. gfitz says:

    Even though this was light on words, what you had was powerful. And the images said a lot on their own! Wow Mortimer looks scary in that portrait doesn’t he? Is that just me?

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      It’s not the best portrait ever – I just powerleveled Cornelia until she could paint portraits to get it. I do suppose he looks a bit scary. Heh.

      A picture is worth a thousand words, you know. 😉

      Like

  7. Sara says:

    Wow amazing pictures little words turns out theres a lot of words. Oh and u cant sleep in someones house unless invited. Did you get invited to sleepover? If not how did u sleep in there?

    Like

  8. I liked the sparse text in this one. I think that’s one of the interesting things about Sims stories (or graphic novels). Sometimes you can tell so much with just pictures. And your pictures are so nice.

    I’m really excited about Bella’s appearance. Especially with a different spin on her story. She’s been one of my favorite characters since Sims 1.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Some of the chapters are more heavy on text, some tell their story almost entirely in pics, and some – especially Dark and its companion Light – are more poems than anything else. Towards the end the text gets more and more concentrated as I learned more about writing and really tried to push myself to get the most meaning out of the fewest words possible. And it’s been pointed out to me that the change in style as it goes on actually works with the plot. 🙂

      Oh, and thank you so much for the compliment on the pics. 🙂 This is around the time I learned about screen layers to brighten them up and unsharp mask to make the colors pop.

      Like

  9. Katrea says:

    :O You’re looking a bit sinister there Lilith. Could it be that the ghosts are taking over a little more each passing minute? Or are the ghosts just trying to tell her something and are giving her a first-hand point of view? Questions, questions! Must. Read. More.

    Bella looks so kind! She makes me feel nostalgic lol. I’m interested to hear about her and hopefully some background history!

    Like

  10. I liked the sequence of all pictures initially. I’m assuming Lilith passed out on Bella’s doorstep and she let her rest upstairs where Lilith had more visions. I wonder how Bella is going to help Lilith.

    Like

Leave a Reply

