Dust

I'm pretty excited about this update

She felt all of it.

I actually wrote most of the text out before starting on the post

The grass, the air, the sky, the trees, the sun.

and I was all ready to take a lot of staged pictures with Bella and Morty at different ages

His touch.

but then I realized that these would be perfect

All of it. As if for the first time, the last time, all time.

and let's face it, at this point reusing pictures is a theme

She was borne aloft on a tide of love. She gloried in it, exulted in it, lost her soul within its sea.

Although I might still use one pic of them aged up

She melted into it, becoming one drop among millions and a drop that held millions within itself.

WordPress is being all stupid

it's really annoying

Sigh.

Love. Forever.

so I just did this set all quick-like.  I hope it's okay

Jason stared at the Ursine file on his screen. He knew there was something he was missing, some key that would explain everything.

The last update was the longest one yet

He had to figure this out. What if the killer struck again? What if the next target was Lilith?

this is one of the shortest

He nearly jumped out of his seat when he heard Officer Thompson clear her throat. How did she creep up behind him like that?

Although on second thought, he was glad that she had derailed his train of thought before it had the chance to go into that dark and endless tunnel. He’d been in that tunnel far too often in the last 24 hours.

“Geez, make a little more noise would you? What’s up?”

hey, as long as it takes to tell the update, right?

“We just got a call from the Goth house. There’s been another murder.”

Previous: Night
Next: Daydream
This entry was posted in Valley and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Dust

  1. Alex says:

    GASP! Bella dead?

    Like

  2. natrox14 says:

    NOOO!! BELLA!

    Like

  3. carnaxa says:

    What you did with Bella, that scene with Mortimer at the stones, absolutely beautifully done. It makes her death, whilst still tragic, also a step into the afterlife. Her passing, from Bella’s perspective seemed very peaceful. The joining of the two really shows the depth of their love and relationship with each other.

    It was great to see what Jason was up to whilst Lilith is off sleuthing on dangerous territory. It demonstrates how much he cares for her and I guess in a way, it makes his love for her and her disregard of it that much more poignant. The desperation he feels drips from the page.

    Definately a cliffhanger update and you’re right, an update should take as long as it needs to.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Aww, thank you. 🙂 It was indeed peaceful for her.

      I’ve come up with three theme songs for Jason so far, and they are all related to the dynamic that you observed. I do wonder what you’ll think of future events.

      I think the next one will definitely be one of the longer ones – Cassandra deserves a few minutes in the spotlight.

      Again, thank you. I love your shorts on your blog, so it means quite a bit that you like my writing.

      Like

  4. catherinesims3 says:

    Wait a minute. I am having confused thoughts, most of them involving the words “incorporeal” and “refrigerator”.

    I’ll get back to you. Excellent, as usual. Lovely shots of Bella, especially the first two.

    Oh, the “Dust” link in your boolprop intro is pointing to “Night” instead of here.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      LOL! 🙂 Do remember my PM at Boolprop asking if you knew of any certain buyable objects and the hacks that you gave me the links to. 😉

      Those pics were all taken for Rocks – you can see the whole sequence on LJ in the “Bella’s Journey” entry.

      Thanks, fixed the link. 🙂

      Like

  5. Kal says:

    When I first read the beginning part about Bella’s childhood and teenagerhood and all that stuff, I was confused about how that worked into the story. Now I can see how it fits perfectly with Bella’s passing. 🙂 Great job!

    Like

  6. Sara says:

    plz not bella or lilith gasp! Lilith was at the goths house! Oh what if it was bella though? Poor bella. Also that sweet scene with mortimer aww so sweet

    Like

  7. OH NOOO! Not Bella!? (I knew it was coming, but it’s still a shock that it came so quickly!) Well, even though I liked her a lot, she’ll finally be able to be with Mortimer once again. You could see it in her face and the way she talked about him that she never stopped loving him.

    I’m glad Jason’s taking an interest, though I hope he’s careful! I think Lilith would really lose it if Jason was killed, despite her hot-and-cold feelings towards him. Her world is crumbling around her, and I can’t wait to see what happens next!

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Seth doesn’t mess around, and she never woke up. And yeah, she’s all right.

      About the second bit – ooh, don’t want to post spoilery things. No – even that comment might be spoilery. So I will just grin silently.

      Like

  8. Pamela says:

    😦 Bella.

    <– not very eloquent today, so that's all I have to say. It was beautiful though.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      I’m not all that eloquent today either – do you feel just sort of blaaarrrgh? Because that’s how I feel.

      Anyway – thank you. 🙂 I hoped it would get that feeling across.

      Like

  9. hrootbeer says:

    Gah!!!!!!

    But in a good way 🙂

    Like

  10. pabo9999 says:

    NOT BELLA! take me instead! D;

    Like

  11. berrybetty says:

    Short but great. Beautiful pictures, can’t wait for next update.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Yeah, this was the shortest update so far. The previous one was the longest one so far, so it’s not a trend. It’s just that this was all this one had to tell me.

      Thanks. 🙂 Next one should probably be up some time this weekend.

      Like

  12. DB loves her Mac says:

    ~sniff~ That was lovely. Can I have a hanky now? ~sniff~

    Very nice title flow, by the way. Ashes to ashes, dust to dust.

    So how do they know she was murdered?

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Aww, thank you. 🙂 I wanted Dust right after Ashes, but then Night got in the way. Still though, it works.

      As for that bit – honestly I’m sort of writing this on the fly, but I read your comment on my BlackBerry at work today and thought of a way to explain it. A way that fits very nicely with the rest of the plot. So thank you for asking that and giving me the idea. 🙂

      Like

  13. Gayl says:

    oh boy…Bella…

    I am continually impressed by the creative and vivid shots you get.

    Like

  14. Lottie says:

    Sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet Sassafras. I think I just spewed soda all over my computer screen. Not Bella! I’m sitting on the edge of my seat waiting patiently for the next update. I’m LOVING this story!

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      LOL, what a wonderful expression.

      Thank you so much. 🙂 I’m glad that other people enjoy it. I know I’m pretty much addicted to it. Actually tonight we were buying school supplies for my sister-in-law and I saw the coolest notebook with a pink skull on it (not the Hello Kitty type pink skull – much cooler) and slipped it in the cart and told my husband it’d be my special Valley notebook. 😉

      Next update will probably be this weekend.

      Like

  15. raquelaroden says:

    I like how you bring Simhenge into Bella’s passing–the spot always meant so much to her in your story. Poor Jason…I like him, but I don’t think he and Lilith will have a happy ever after.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Yep. 🙂 That’s why I use the same pictures quite a bit – not to be lazy, but to show how these images mean a lot to the characters and create some emotional resonance with them.

      And yeah, Jason’s a pretty good guy. We’ll see how their future goes, but after all this was originally conceived as a way to explain Lilith being broke and alone and homeless as a legacy founder. But I’ve decided to change the ending, so who knows?

      Like

  16. celara says:

    I second DB’s question above: how do we know she was murdered? I’m sure the next post will clarify that point.

    However, this isn’t looking good for Lilith at this point. She was one of the last people to see Ms. Ursine alive, and now she is the last person to see Bella alive…and she stayed in her house the night of the murder.

    Jason is going to find himself in a hard position, because I think this puts Lilith up to #1 on the suspect list at this point from a police perspective.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      I don’t think I could ever write a realistic police procedural, lol. I think realistically she would have been brought in for questioning and/or at least told to stick around and not go wandering off to strange houses after Shannon’s death.

      The first bit will be explained – if not in the next update then probably the one after that. I thought of a way to fit it in the general plot. As for the other bit – I don’t know. I’ll think about it. Off to ponder in my new special pink skull Valley notebook.

      Like

  17. Moni says:

    -0.0- OH GOD!!!!!!! Poor Bella… =[

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      It’s okay. She’s happy and it was peaceful for her and really I think she was ready to go, although certainly she would have preferred it to be natural. I think “poor Cassandra” might be more accurate.

      Like

  18. Alex says:

    Thank GOD you made this blog, really, it definitely makes up for the phenomenally long delay that’s still ongoing for the next “Alice & Kev” update. I always love it when people succeed in the Quality AND Quantity areas when it comes to writing these in-game blogs.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Believe me, I had my share of delays with Sims 2. There were breaks of over six months between some of the chapters of my first Sims 2 legacy, and most of my other projects never got past the first chapter.

      This, though – I am in love with it and addicted to it.

      Like

  19. kansine says:

    Very beautiful chapter! Btw, the graphics are unbelieveable O_O

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      My husband’s tower has better graphics than my old one. Plus while I was working on a writing contest entry featuring Seth I learned some more GIMP tricks that I put to use in the Bella pics. 😉

      Like

  20. grace_roo says:

    OMG!!! You’re going to kill off Jason aren’t you??? Please tell! The suspense is killing me!!!
    Well at least tell me when your next update’s going to be…

    Like

  21. Mara says:

    I’ve been reading your story from the Simply Sims3 LJ community, and I’ve really been enjoying each chapter. You have such an incredible talent for story telling!

    I really felt that even though I’ve been lurking through your story, I absolutely had to comment in this chapter. The first scene with Bella and Mortimore nearly brought me to tears. Simply gorgeous! I can’t wait to read more!

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      I was at work all day and then I felt awful until I ate some dinner, so sorry I didn’t reply sooner.

      Thank you! I am all happy that you’re enjoying it. 🙂 And yes – I did want that bit to be special. I think I did a fairly good job of translating what I had in mind.

      I’m exhausted today and I think we’re going out tomorrow, but I imagine I’ll spend most of Saturday working on the next update. 🙂 As we get closer to the climax it’s really starting to come together in my head and Seth finally came to life and started talking and letting me get to know him! And man he’s insane. LOL. 😉

      Like

  22. r0b3rto0o says:

    Nooooo, thats not allowed to happen!!!
    Bella can’t die!!!

    I hate Seth! How could he do something like this to her!!!

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      As the author, I quite like Seth. I’m so happy that he finally joined the others in my mind as someone that I feel I am getting to know.

      But yeah, from the perspective of the other characters he is very much a qualified target for hatred. As Terry Pratchett would say – he sees people as things.

      Like

  23. Ashlyn says:

    This update was gorgeous and amazing with every picture and word. Im sad that Bella has passed away but she rejoined Mortimer and is probably much happier now. I don’t like that she is gone but she grew old and now she is just gone. I hope Lilith will be ok and I also hope she will figure out this mystery (just not right now)! I hope MedleyMisty is proud of this story I know if I were the author I would be. May Lilith (and Jason!) be alright. (Plus I hope Cassandra is ok too!)

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Aww, thanks. 🙂 And yes, Bella is happier now. Even if it was an unnatural death. It was painless – Seth isn’t into physical violence. I’ll explain how he killed her in an update or two.

      I’m glad that you care enough about the characters to hope that they’re all right. 🙂 And yes, I am proud of it. I am especially proud of how I’ve kept updating for two months now. My Sims 2 stories all fizzled away – my last few attempts only lasted one chapter.

      Thank you for reading and commenting. It really means a lot.

      Like

  24. EmberLight says:

    :O bella! T_T im gonna miss her! nooooo!

    A short update, but nevertheless, it was great! 😀

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      It was as long as it wanted to be. The previous one was the longest update to date, so it’s certainly not a sign of a trend. I just tell the update until it’s done and then I stop.

      And thank you. 🙂 I’m going to miss writing her. I imagine she’ll still show up in Lilith’s visions here and there, like Shannon has since her death.

      Like

  25. tipix7 says:

    The day this legacy doesn’t have a cliffhanger is the day the world ends. I swear. (& a murder? noooo!!)

    Like

  26. Mikayla says:

    NOOOOOOOOOO BELLA NOOOOOOOO!!! 😦
    Now what will Lilith do with the story?
    Now what will her boyfriend do?! Will THEY die TOO!!?
    NOOOO BELLA!!!
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!
    Bella was soo nice though!
    I cant WAIT for the next update hopefully Bella isnt dead but I think she is 😦

    Like

  27. Audrey says:

    Wait, first Claire, now Bella, while Lilith’s in the house…She’s going to end up on the suspect list, isn’t she? :/

    Like

  28. Valerie says:

    Hey! I’m back reading again. I think this is where I left off. I don’t remember seeing this part.

    I think the shots in this are beautiful. ❤ My Bella stories always had a very different take on Mortimer/Bella, yet this does so much to make me forget that in the context of this story.

    Like

  29. Katrea says:

    I absolutely adore happy endings so I’m so glad that Bella found hers. So wonderful to see Mortimer there waiting for her in the after life. Poor Cassandra though, it’s always the living that are left longing. I’m interested in seeing more of crazy Seth and how he killed Bella. Suffocation?!
    I’m guessing he’s the one that had Mr. Sekemoto so paranoid as well.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      I’m glad I had one happy ending in the story for you, then. 🙂

      I think I had some idea that when he didn’t kill by fire, he used poison. And there’s plenty of Seth around here to see. 😉

      Like

  30. What a beautiful beginning! I loved the pictures. They had an ethereal feel to them.

    Another murder? Oh it’s Bella isn’t it? I hope to God it isn’t Lilith. I think Jason would flip his lid and probably melt into a puddle of tears.

    Like

Leave a Reply

