Diary

ah Valley, I can always trust you to show me the way

The house was as silent and cold as loneliness, but it wasn’t empty.

I cried today

Lilith stared at the furniture. His furniture. Where he ate and sat and read and wrote notes on…what?

She went to investigate.

when I thought about the end of Valley

Suddenly it all seemed very intimate. He had held this pen, read this book. Looked at it with the eyes she had seen in her mind. Touched it with the hands that had set the fire.

I don't want it to end.

Smoke filled her nostrils. She felt the heat of the fire on her skin and heard Jason’s last words.

needed to add this

“Keep going! I can’t hold it much longer!”

I don't know what I'll do when it's done

She hadn’t seen him. But then no one had, had they? Except Jason, who had seen him for just a second on the tape of Shannon’s death.

But she knew beyond a doubt that he had set the fire.

And for Jason, she would keep going.

photobucket just crapped out on me

She hadn’t heard anything since she’d come in. Was he even here? Or was he still out killing people and starting fires and crushing souls?

Wherever he was, she would be here when he came to read his books and make his notes. She would be here. Waiting.

and I was absolutely terrified

She sat in his chair. His arms had rested here. His legs had pressed against this cushion. The faint smell of smoke and dirt in the air belonged to him.

She sunk into the impressions he’d left behind.

I love this story

She would wait. And while she waited, she would see what it was that he read, what it was that was of such interest to him.

does this work squished together?

To Lilith’s surprise, it was a journal. The handwriting was elegant and old-fashioned, full of swoops and swirls and sadness.

remastered Nightmare pic omg!

He can’t find out.

needed this pic I think

She flipped to a page near the beginning.

let's see

I hope Sunset Valley will be good for Seth. He hasn’t been the same since the accident. Since he almost…oh, I can’t bear to think of it.

so I'll just publish both at the same time

He won’t talk about it. If he did, I would listen. I would listen and I would cook him dinner and I would make it all better. But he doesn’t talk. I’m not even sure if he really knows I exist anymore.

OMG OMG OMG - so what do you guys think of Seth?

If only he could see that I’m here for him, that I want to help, that I want to see him happy again. More than anything in the world, I want to see him happy again.

But he doesn’t see that. He doesn’t see anything except whatever it was that happened to him when…when…when I almost lost him. When he almost died.

All he sees is darkness, and I don’t know how to bring him back to the light.

Yay!

He spent a lot of time out by the waterfall today. At least he was outside getting some sun and fresh air.

I went to talk to him, but then I realized that he wouldn’t have answered.

I will cook him his favorite tonight. The best Stu Surprise I can cook.

My mother always said that the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach.

omg I'm having so much incredible joyous fun right now

Sarah had loved him?!

Lilith had to take a few minutes to think about that. She’d known they were married, that they had a kid together, but she’d never really thought that Sarah had loved him.

She had loved him. And he’d burned her.

Lilith thumbed through the pages, looking for something closer to the fire.

let's see how this looks

It seems that Seth’s new object of fascination is the fireplace. He looks at it a lot.

It’s been a while since he last really looked at me.

omg I'm nearly crying with joy

He has started talking more lately. But it’s not…it’s not a good sort of talking. I don’t know where he’s gone. It’s like he’s disappeared deep within himself, down some hole where I can’t follow.

I would, if I knew how. If I knew how I’d follow him down to wherever he’s gone and bring him back. Bring him back to me.

I keep cooking. It’s the only thing I know to do really. Even if he asks those questions about it.

hmm

Fascinated with the fireplace?! Lilith wanted to go back in time and tell Sarah to run, that the Seth she had apparently fallen in love with was gone, that she needed to leave. Before…

hmmm - I do believe Sarah's diary is going to take more than one update

“The fire comes for us all, Lilith.”

but that's okay with me

Lilith shook her head, chasing the vision away. She hadn’t seen a mention of Emma yet. She ruffled through the diary, looking for something useful. Something that could help her when he came.

How much time did she have?

because I'm not ready for Valley to end

Where was he, anyway?

I published this one too early

She quickly scanned through the pages, hoping for any sort of clue. Anything at all. And then she saw it.

sorry to the people who saw it before I fixed it

He can’t find out. Not about that. I don’t know him anymore and I’m scared and he can’t…I won’t let him kill anyone!

Previous: Water
Next: Waffles
This entry was posted in Valley and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to Diary

  1. Sims2Fan5921 says:

    Yay! First comment! I still can’t believe Jason’s gone. But it was a good chapter.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      He had to go.

      And I changed a couple of things since you saw it, I think. It’s better (I’ve got to learn to stop publishing them before they’re done) but still – I don’t think it’s good. I waited too late for this bit of exposition. And it should have like 30 more pictures really.

      Oh well – I can just work on the getting the next part out quickly.

      Like

  2. meowbark says:

    Oooh, intense. I wonder what Sarah is hiding.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      I think I should go to bed, because I’m all tired and my first instinctual reaction was to just straight up tell you, lol.

      Good to know that you found it intense – I’m afraid it’s a bit anti-climactic after Water.

      Thought about it. Decided Water was the climax. This is the falling action now. Feel better.

      Like

      • meezletoe says:

        Your icon makes me smile. And I’m curious about Emma! Is Sarah a coward in the story too (or just traits)?

        Like

        • medleymisty says:

          I’m glad you like it. Personally looking at Seth pics makes me giggle and shiver and laugh maniacally. πŸ˜‰

          Hmm. That’s a good question. I do think that she wasn’t very assertive. And obviously she didn’t take Emma and leave Seth. On the other hand, she stood up to him about…well, you’ll find out. I think that she was definitely more towards the coward side on the coward/brave slider, but not always.

          Like

  3. DB loves her Mac says:

    Where to begin? So many savory bits! “crushing souls” … “swoops and swirls and sadness” … “cook him dinner and make it all better” Lots of life and flavor in there.

    I like the storybook effect to the pictures from Sarah’s diary, too.

    Go to sleep. Know that this is good.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Awww, thank you. πŸ™‚ And yeah, I did like the text here. It’s more the story pacing and the length that I have problems with. But like I said – I feel better now that I’ve realized that Water was the climax and we’re into the falling action.

      But really – thank you. I know that sometimes I can be a yawning maw that’s never satisfied and that it must be draining for people to deal with my ups and downs in self-confidence and stuff. So I really do appreciate the reassurance.

      Like

  4. scarletsimphony says:

    You totally just yanked my new sparkly toy away just as I was about to grab it πŸ˜› I love your cliffhangers lol.

    Maybe Emma’s a LOVECHILD of like… some relative of someone down the line. Hmm!

    And I don’t know if I’d stick by my man if he started getting that way, haha. Love is strong, but when you don’t even know the person anymore, when they’re not contributing to the relationship, and especially when they’re talking crazy talk, I think it’s time to let it go. But as much as I love my husband I’m sure there’s a chance I’d be in the same position as Sarah. We should all buy fireproof clothing.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Sarah’s traits are natural cook, light sleeper, family-oriented, hopeless romantic, and coward. Yeah.

      I’ve watched it with my own mother. Oh, she eventually got rid of him, but it took her for freaking ever to realize that her latest boyfriend was a complete loony and I was honestly scared for her life there for a bit. And she would always ask me if my husband acted like that, like she thought it was normal and how all guys were or something. I was like, “Err, no. That’s not normal.” I think my father was the only decent guy she’s ever been with.

      So yeah, Sarah had her own emotional and mental issues.

      Like

  5. Sara says:

    It feels weird when everyone is talking about Sarah because Sarah is my real name I was just too lazy to type the h lol (I’m talking about up above my name says Sara)

    Like

  6. catherinesims3 says:

    Argh, where is he?

    Why do I feel the skin on the back of my neck pricking like I think he’s standing behind my chair?

    ‘Cause he’s freakin’ creepy!

    (And excellent.)

    I wonder if he is in the house, though. Letting Lillith read the journal because he plans to kill her, anyway.

    Anyway, you gave me a lot to think about regarding what else that diary might say.

    Congratulations on another great update!

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Creepy and beautiful, he is.

      The call is coming from inside the house!!! Oh noes!!! πŸ˜‰

      And yeah, the diary is going to extend itself to at least another update. Which makes me happy. Don’t want Valley to end yet.

      Thank you, as always. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • catherinesims3 says:

        LOL the call is coming from inside the house!

        Even though that line has become a comical cliche of sorts, it still scares the hell out of me.

        Yay we should be seeing that diary pretty soon, yeah?

        Like

  7. Kal says:

    I think this is the perfect spot for this kind of thing! πŸ™‚ Water was us nearing the top of the mountain, getting closer and closer, and then Diary is us falling a tiny bit, but still continuing enough that it puts us at the edge of our seat, impatient and nervous about the next chapter, the next edge of the mountain.
    I especially love the 21st picture. πŸ˜‰ It was amazingly creepy! And I love this little back story into Sarah’s life, and how it gives us this small site into their life, and maybe into Sarah’s own dark secret, and maybe the secret that caused Seth to snap…
    ~~Kal

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Awww, thanks. πŸ™‚ Okay, I feel better now.

      There are some parallels here with Sunset and how Jason felt about Lilith at the time. It came to me recently that Seth and Sarah are the shadow versions of Lilith and Jason. Yet another reason why Jason had to die in a fire – to have the parallel with Sarah.

      Seth faced the same dilemma as Lilith and he took the opposite path. He couldn’t accept that the water had to fall. His answer to death was fire.

      It also came to me while I was taking those first couple of pics that Seth misses Sarah. Sure, he killed her. Sure, Prodigy’s Smack My Bitch Up is on his playlist. But look at how lonely his little spartan set-up is. And he sits there and reads her diary. Ostensibly it’s to try and figure out what she was hiding from him, but yeah – he misses her.

      Again, thank you. πŸ™‚ I really do feel better now and I do truly appreciate the vote of confidence.

      Like

  8. DebC says:

    Whoa! I love this entry. The diary really brings out the chill in the story! Where is Seth? Will he come back to find her there? Will he kill her, too?

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Thank you! I do feel better about it now. πŸ™‚

      Seth is finishing up his business at Jason’s house. And yes, he will be coming back to his house when Valley says it’s time. I think that he rather expects to see Lilith there. As for killing her – well, I suppose we’ll have to wait and see. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  9. Anonymous says:

    Creepy! But a great read!

    Like

  10. moondaisy101 says:

    This is brilliant! And it’s not an anti-climax after Water at all. If anything, this chapter turns the tension and suspense a notch up, especially because she’s in the house! I’m glad she is sitting with her back to a solid wall…

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Thank you! πŸ™‚ I do indeed feel better about it now.

      I didn’t even think about that when I was setting up Seth’s sad little emo corner. Hmm. And it would have been nice to have him show up behind her.

      Hmm.

      Like

  11. kansine says:

    Hmmm… this guess is maybe a bit of a clichΓ©… but this makes me think that Emma maybe wasn’t their child after all or something O_O Anyway, I love the stoy a lot!!!

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Oh no – she has Sarah’s hair and Seth’s eyes. I definitely made her using the create a baby thingy in CAS. πŸ™‚ Sigh – you guys come up with such interesting stuff and then it’s all prosaic. Lilith just hasn’t read anything mentioning Emma yet. It’s there, though.

      And thank you. πŸ™‚

      Like

  12. kama674 says:

    Awsome chapter! I like the way that you put Sarah’s dairy in! I love it!

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Thank you! πŸ™‚ I thought it was only fair that Sarah got a chance to talk.

      I am tossing around the idea of a Seth perspective update at some point. If I can’t do it in the story I might do it for Simhaven’s October story challenge. Hmm, yes. *strokes chin*

      Like

  13. Liz says:

    I’ve really enjoyed your story. Your imagery in words is wonderful. I also felt like he was in the room, watching her or me. O_o

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Thank you. πŸ™‚ I was trying for a bit of an intimate sensual feeling – I mean, he’s been all up in her mind and now she’s in his house and sitting on his chair and reading his stuff, so you know – they’re pretty close. Or something. We had a fourth person go down with swine flu at work today and now I’ve started coughing and sneezing and feeling weird, so yeah.

      But really thank you – I do like metaphors and pretty words and I’m glad to know you like them too. πŸ™‚ If I do end up with swine flu, I will endeavor to have Valley fever dreams that I can use in future updates. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  14. gayl says:

    Wow Sarah was hiding something that made Seth kill her or was he going to pretty much do that anyway because he is a loony toon? This piece still cranks up the tension!

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Yay! So apparently it’s not as sucky as I thought. πŸ™‚ Thank you so very much.

      And yes, I’m thinking the diary may take more than one update – it may end up spreading itself like Bella’s story did. That’s cool with me – so not ready for Valley to end.

      Like

  15. Sydney says:

    This was a great entry!! I feel the suspense and i hate cliffhangers! I just want to know what’s going to happen! I’m still sad that Jason died, though. But as you said…It had to be done. Hhhaahah.

    Amazing Story! Keep on Writing! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Awww, thanks. πŸ™‚ We’ll find out what’s going to happen. Eventually. πŸ™‚

      I’m still sad too – honestly I can’t listen to his music on the character playlist anymore because it makes me upset.

      I do indeed plan to keep on writing. πŸ™‚

      Like

  16. raquelaroden says:

    This is a great update! It feels like it did the first few updates, when Lilith was still mostly sane–the focus is on what happened to this family. The focus shifted from the mystery of the family to the mystery of what was happening to Lilith, and now it is back to the family again. So, you’ll likely have another peak in your story rollercoaster, because we had the climax of what happened to Lilith, but now we’re getting excited again at the prospect of finally finding out what happened to the Morrigans–you’re leading us back up, and we only just came back down! It’s awesome.

    Several comments have speculated on Emma’s parentage, and if she isn’t Seth’s child, that would fit in with the story very well. A lot of people describe children as their own little pieces of immortality–their way of living on in some form past their death. If Emma wasn’t Seth’s child and he was obsessed with immortality, then finding out would have been quite a blow.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Awwww. That really does help me feel better. Thank you so very much.

      Still haven’t eaten dinner and I’m feeling a bit weird and sick, so not really up to thinking or typing much.

      That is a very good observation and I like it and will think about it.

      Like

  17. Samantha says:

    It’s almost like Lilith is either Sarah or Emma or maybe even Seth reincarnated… great chapter!

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Lilith and Seth are very connected, I think – in the ways of life paths and themes and personality, they are very similar. Like I said, I’ve come to think that Seth is Lilith’s shadow in a way.

      Hmm.

      Thank you. πŸ™‚

      Like

  18. Carla says:

    What I was thinking while I was reading this is that it seems like Seth either went insane or was possessed by something and that the same thing is happening to Lilith? That’s what was running through my mind anyway!

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Interesting. I do think that they faced similar things. They both were kind of bummed out by, you know, the whole death and suffering thing. Which I didn’t know about Seth’s history with that until it came out of my fingers while I was writing the captions, but it makes sense and fits very well.

      Which I think that his brush with death acted as his catalyst the way that Jason’s death was one for Lilith. They were both brought face to face with what they feared the most, and they reacted in very different ways.

      Like

  19. Christian says:

    Something tells me Seth isn’t as evil as we think.

    Like

  20. TheLunarFox says:

    So many awesome theories! I don’t know which one to go with. I’m just waiting for Seth to pop out from somewhere and I’m wondering what in the heck Lily thinks she’s going to do!

    And where is Emma? That last line and the last picture… creepy and perfect. Leaving me on my toes. I wanna know what he can’t find out about.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Emma is there – we’ll see if Lilith reads anything about her in the next update. I imagine so, but the updates often end up going somewhere different than I thought they would so who knows.

      Thanks. πŸ™‚

      Like

  21. Ambree says:

    Wow! I was on the edge of my seat reading this, I didn’t know rather Seth would turn up and find her there reading the diary, or if he was standing there behind her the whole time. It was great to get a look into Sara’s diary, to see Seth through her eyes, now I’m wondering what she was hiding and I can’t wait to find out. Awesome update!

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Thank you. πŸ™‚ Guess I should declare my issues with this update officially resolved.

      Ooh I’m getting chills thinking about Seth popping up and saying The Line. On one hand I’m glad that Valley seems to think it’s cool for the diary to extend itself the way Bella’s story did, but on the other hand I cannot wait to write that bit. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  22. Ning says:

    Mmmm~! How can you not say what happened to Seth and what Sarah is hiding from him?

    I was pretty scared that Seth would pop out any minute while Lilith was reading the diary, lol. Read the next page already, Lilith!

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      He is going to pop out at some point, yes. πŸ™‚

      We’ll find out what she was hiding. As for what happened to him – we’ll find that out if it turns out we need to know and it’s important.

      Like

  23. insidehopesprings says:

    What secret does Sarah have I wonder. Very intriguing.

    The diary format is a great idea for showing a glimpse of Seth’s life before what befell him. He does seem rather eerie in Sarah’s description, almost like he lost a part of himself somehow, like he changed. For such a drastic change, something must have been the cause.

    It draws ever closer to the showdown between Lilith and Seth. I suspect it’s not going to go down as Lilith expects.

    Another great chapter.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Oh yes – Jason’s death was Lilith’s catalyst, and I think that Seth’s was his own brush with death. They both looked into the abyss, and they reacted in very different ways. Lilith found herself. Seth went insane.

      Thank you. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • insidehopesprings says:

        “They both looked into the abyss and they reacted in very different ways.”

        You have me insanely intrigued now. I love things that explore these sorts of themes.

        Like

  24. CGB says:

    Hmm… I just read your little rant at LJ. If (and when) Valley is published I’ll recommend it to all my friends/family. And for some strange reason I like watching people tell off the jerks in the world.

    As for the update, I do appreciate the backstory. It adds a whole new depth to Sarah’s character (all I could think about before was she needed to RUN!) But the diary explains why she didn’t. I actually overlooked the obvious (love.)

    As usual, great work

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Yeah – apparently someone didn’t like me on the Sims 2 BBS over four years ago and is still carrying a grudge around about that and is still reading Valley and my LJ even though they don’t like me and they’re taking the time to make secrets to show how much they don’t like me. Oh well. I’m not the same person I was four years ago, and nothing can stop me from doing Valley now.

      Thank you so much for the support. It really does mean a lot and helped me feel a lot better.

      And yeah, she loved him. And I think that she had her own issues and personality quirks that made her stay.

      Again, thank you. πŸ™‚ I’m getting started on the next update later today. Silly anonymous hate secrets aren’t going to stop me now.

      Like

  25. oooooh awesome! I wonder what she is hiding!! Hopefully Lillith finds it somewhere in that book, maybe about what he was saying to her, or more of what he did. It’s kind of weird, because what Lillith goes to, that’s where Seth was going. Fire, water, death, alone. Seth had went to the fire, and then he had been to the water by the waterfall that Lillith loves so much, then he had died, and then he had been all alone without Sarah and Emma. Interesting…
    haha!! Can’t wait for the next update!

    Like

  26. Sara says:

    I’m listening to How To Save A Life right now. It was my cousin’s favorite song. I don’t really know why I’m commenting this but I felt I should talk to someone and my parents are asleep so are my 2 brothers and sister. I don’t want to wake them up. We were up late last night watching videos of my brother before he died and before I was alive.

    Like

  27. amyjobee says:

    This chapter was fascinating! You were right. I never really thought Seth was cute before but he actually is. I am curious to find out what made him go mad. This chapter answered so many questions yet brought on so many new questions at the same time!

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      All of the pictures of him so far have been either heavily edited or looking at him from the back. So yeah. Very excited to show pics of him that are more subtly edited. πŸ™‚

      We’ll find out more. And yay, Valley isn’t as close to the end as I thought. πŸ™‚ I’m so not ready for it to end.

      Thanks. πŸ™‚

      Like

  28. liza says:

    I think that emma and seth got in an accident (a fire maybe?) and emma died and seth survived… I’m probably wrong but I thought so since Lilith says something about not hearing anything about emma in sarah’s diary… we shall soon find out! I can’t wait for the next entry!!!

    Like

    • amyjobee says:

      wow, good theory even if it’s not true.. never thought about that!

      Like

    • medleymisty says:

      I agree with Amy – that is a very good theory. And then the Emma that Bella saw was perhaps a solidly manifesting ghost.

      I do like that theory. πŸ™‚ I added this song to Seth’s playlist the other day (I think it’s more a Diary-era Seth song than current Seth song) and then I watched the video and the video seems to fit very well too – note the bits with the little girl. Hmm.

      Thank you, and I may get started on the next update here in a couple of hours.

      Like

  29. Kat says:

    Love te post it was exhillrhating (I hope I spelled that right)
    but anyway Seth makes me scared

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Thank you! πŸ™‚ I really do feel better about it now. I perceived it as a bit of a slow letdown after Water, but then I generally don’t see it the same way that other people do. So thank you again for commenting and sharing your perspective and helping me see things from another point of view.

      Glad Seth seems scary – I love and adore him myself and I don’t see him as scary at all, but obviously Lilith would.

      Like

  30. tipix7 says:

    I’m interested to see where the diary takes her!

    Like

  31. quanta1000 says:

    The diary!!! *scary music* I don’t think Seth will be too happy when he walks in and there Lilith is…reading his dead wife’s diary that contains a secret. His secret. Or maybe, he already knows she is there…and is just waiting for the right time. Oh how I wish I could get inside Seth’s mind! Great job once again!

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Seth’s mind is a very interesting place, yes. πŸ™‚ I am considering an update from his perspective. If I can’t make it work within the story I might write it anyway and stick it on my LJ.

      Thank you. πŸ™‚

      Like

  32. kansine says:

    I literally can’t wait for the new post – I need it NOW! XD

    Like

  33. OMG-I am so far behind! I must get to reading!

    I just loved this part: “She had loved him. And he’d burned her.” There is so much depth behind those words, beyond the obvious conotation of him murdering Sara. He burned her mentally and emotionally by drawing in on himself.

    It flew pretty quick, this chapter! Now that I have SOOOO much time on my hands, I WILL finish this! πŸ˜€

    Like

  34. Valerie says:

    Very interesting. I’m glad to get to know Sarah better. And I love the picture of Seth with the fire in the background. I almost feel a little bad for him in my confusion of what happened. Hmm.

    Like

  35. Katrea says:

    I was all pumped up to see Seth finally, but I really liked hearing about Sara and her point of view. She was the closest person around him so finding out what she knows will be interesting.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Oh man. You can’t imagine how excited I was to write Seth. But then Sarah’s diary was all “I wanna talk!” But I think it ended up okay.

      To reference the new story again, lol – yes, Seth and Sarah will be showing up in it. Sarah might be rather…different, though. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  36. Lilith is pretty brave sitting in his house like this. But she needs to know. This filled in some blanks. I wondered what kind of relationship Seth and Sarah had. I wondered what kind of craziness could turn him into a monster to burn his wife. There has to be a reason, I kept telling myself. Maybe it was an accident? No, it couldn’t be, not with Sarah’s words. Okay, thinking out loud over… onto the next chapter.

    Like

  37. Hailey says:

    Nothing like reading this at work and having the fire alarm go off. πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

