New Project Coming Soon

So I am ripping off an idea I found on the World of Warcraft forums. I think it’d be a great way to get the wheels turning again after my little break.

By the way, the WoW story is totally epic, especially if you’ve played the game and get the references.

I will be updating in a couple of days with a main character and the beginning of a story. And then you guys can comment with what you think the main character should do, and I will take your commands and write them into the story. 🙂

The story will be taking place in the Sims universe and you can give commands based on the game. I don’t want to use pictures but I will probably be playing out the commands in the game for reference and ideas and if anything awesome happens I’ll get a pic of it.

The absence of pics means that it doesn’t have to stick insanely close to the game and the commands don’t have to always be actual actions you can queue up in the game. We can take a little artistic license here.

I have to admit that the idea of an alternative game world like the Broken Azeroth of Dusk’s story is very attractive, but I’m trying to not rip him off too much. Although thinking about it – I will have to include some element like that, otherwise it’ll just be same old same old telling a sim to go to work and eat and go to the bathroom and sleep.

OMG! Just realized how to do that. 😉

You guys want a new character, or would you be cool with giving commands to Sarah? Alternate universe, has not yet met Seth Sarah, of course.

I’m cool either way, btw. I like Sarah but I also like the idea of someone new. Hmmm….if it wasn’t so late I’d load up the game and play around in CAS right now.

Or we could use a premade, perhaps. Agnes Crumplebottom jumps out at me immediately.

Thoughts?

This entry was posted in Valley. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to New Project Coming Soon

  1. Amelia says:

    This’ll be really fun, I’m sure! :] And I trust you’ll use your good judgment and not use troll suggestions and whatnot. You must have enough lurkers/fans around here to make an interesting, not to mention interactive, story!

    I think you should make a new character, not a premade, not someone you’ve developed a lot in your mind. That way there’ll be freedom.

    CAS is so much fun. 😀 I just figured out how to download custom content, so clothing and hair is practically unlimited.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      New character it is! 🙂 (Not that I was leaning towards that anyway, or anything. *shifty eyes*) And yeah – at the moment I’m just publicizing this on here, the LJ, and VSS. If it gets going well and I think I can handle more commands, I’ll advertise in other places. And oh yeah – I will try to use most of the commands, even the troll ones if they give me an idea to move the story forward, but obvious trolls that would add nothing to the story would be ignored.

      Okay, so tonight I will install the stuff pack and play around in CAS. And oh yes, CC is awesome. Although to be honest I haven’t really used much of it in Sims 3 yet.

      Should hopefully have the first post ready to go by Friday night/Saturday morning at the latest. And I will post a pic of the character.

      Yay I am all excited! I got my CDs back from my old work truck today, so I’m taking that as a good sign. 🙂

      Like

  2. raquelaroden says:

    This does sound like fun! I’m in! 🙂

    Like

  3. palesunflower says:

    Neat idea! I’m excited to see how it comes out (and participate)! 🙂

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      OMG me too!!!! 🙂 Totally had an idea for the main character and somewhat of a direction for the story today that is so awesome. 🙂 I’m all excited and motivated and may have it up sooner than I said, lol.

      Yay! *hugs*

      Like

  4. kaldresh says:

    Hey Misty – you won’t know this name – but I used to be logged in as the Burton Family. I know… I would have liked to have finished it but RL had other plans. Sigh. I’ve started another so maybe you’ll read. 🙂 ANYWAY…. being a WoWer (WoWerian?) myself, I think it’s a great idea – I’d love to participate.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Yeah – RL can be a witch sometimes. I will certainly check out your new one. 🙂

      Ooh, what do you play? My old main was a gnome lock and I raided with her in Vanilla and BC but that account got hacked. I currently have a level 75 undead mage – who may stay level 75 for a while now, lol. Also a level 48 blood elf hunter who is my PVP toon and I’ve been mostly leveling her through BGs.

      My husband’s old main was a holy pally, but he rerolled with me and now has a level 50 tauren resto druid. He’s enjoying tree form while he can. 🙂

      Like

  5. Mariia says:

    I think a new Sim :). This seems like a SUPER AWESOME idea :). I’m still using your original idea for Valley though, just not for a couple months :). I’m DEFINITELY going to be reading this story :D.
    Shucks, I wasn’t the first commenter D:. Well hopefully I’ll be first on your first post of your new story :).

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      I have made the character and taken and edited a picture. 🙂 I hit randomize on the traits until I got a combination I thought would be fun, and then I did end up changing one of those.

      Had some great thoughts on the basic shape of the story today – obviously can’t plan too much until I see what actions people suggest, but it’s good to have an overall idea of what situation our main character is in. We’ll see how it goes, but I may do like a picture per update if I think I can set up the scene to match the story somewhat.

      Off to get to work on the first update. 🙂

      Oh, and thank you so much for checking this one out too. 🙂 And you can use that idea whenever you want.

      Like

  6. Connor says:

    I’d be partial to Agnes – she’s one of my favorite premades. Or you could create someone new.

    This new story sounds really cool, and I like how you’ll take reader suggestions! 😀

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      I was partial to her too, but then I had this idea. 🙂 It combines a new character and the idea of premades and Sim game lore. 😉

      And oh yes – I am looking forward to seeing how the story grows and evolves with everyone’s subconscious working on it, lol. I hope it turns out well.

      Like

  7. kaldresh says:

    For the horde – lol I am an altaholic unfortunately and play both sides of the fence *g* I have a level 63 dranei hunter, a level 54 undead mage, a level 52 tauren hunter, a level 30-something gnome mage and a couple of very low level collecting alts. My sons play also and all have level 80s running around – they nag me constantly to level up at least one of my toons. One of these days! I don’t pvp much, but have to admit to having had some fun recently in BGs. The random dungeon finder has opened new worlds for me I guess.

    Anyway – I really like the idea – can’t wait for you to get started. 🙂

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      I has gotten started. 😉

      Woot hunters and mages! They are awesome. I liked my lock a lot too, but I can’t seem to level another one. Will try with a goblin lock in Cataclysm.

      And oh yes, the random dungeon finder. I love it. I can do five mans despite not having a guild and being shy and having social anxiety. 🙂

      There are two carrots driving me on to level my girls – my hunter currently has a cat named Lilith and a spider named Alone. I want to complete the collection and get a corehound named Fire, maybe a serpent named Death, and I’ve got my eye on a spirit beast for Seth. And, of course, I want to be able to do heroic Deadmines in Cataclysm. My first character was a warrior and I spent many a night in Deadmines with my first guild, learning how to tank.

      What specs are your mages and hunters? My mage is frost for now, but if I get her to 80 I’ll probably dual spec arcane and frostfire. The hunter is beast mastery and will always be beast mastery. 🙂

      Like

  8. kaldresh says:

    My mage is specced arcane. I usually play her with one of my boys, so I didn’t worry about survivability. *g* And yes, my hunter is beast mastery also. I thought about maybe respeccing just to see how the other trees work – but so far it’s just a thought. And I doubt I will ever get one of them to level 80. Sigh.

    Like

  9. sundancer16 says:

    Use Agnes Crumplebottom! That would be fun.

    A friend reccommended you. I was wondering if you could give some genuine feedback on my sim stories? They are going to get better, I promise, I’m just starting out! Please write back, thanks!

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      I am no longer writing Gunky, or Sims stories in general. It’s all full text now.

      I have a ton of stories to get caught up on at the moment plus I need to write my own, so we shall see.

      Like

Leave a Reply

