Gunky is on hold for a bit

One of my coworkers died yesterday.

I don’t really feel able to be whimsical and funny right now.

On the other hand, I think it would be really therapeutic to work on something. And the only music I can stand right now is the Emo!Teen Seth playlist.

So, instead of Gunky, in a few days you might be getting the second chapter of 10.

This entry was posted in Valley. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Gunky is on hold for a bit

  1. moondaisy101 says:

    Take all the time you want, darling. I wish you strength and consolation. **big hug**

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Aww, thanks. *hugs* I’ve been working there for nearly five years and his office is right next to my cubicle. I see his empty chair every time I get up from my desk.

      He used to ask me about stuff he’d see me doing on my computer, like updating my supra key online. And one time I had a pic of my WoW character as my desktop background and he was joking about it like “I’m still trying to figure out what that is!”

      And his wife is a lovely person who used to be our human resources person before she retired, and I think about her and think about what my mother went through after my father died, and it’s just…yeah.

      But I do think working on 10 will help.

      Thank you, again. You’re a wonderful person and I’m glad you’re my friend.

      Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    ok *hugs* feel better! I can wait for Goopy!!!!! His name is GOOPY NOT GUNKY!!!!!!!!!!! haha get dat down. Wait or do I have it wrong. lolz sorry I have it wrong. *blushes* Sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo embaressed!!!!

    Like

  3. Sara2573 says:

    gettin used to the name Goopy

    Like

  4. Sara2573 says:

    ok *hugs* I can wait for more Gunky!!!! Feel better!!

    Like

  5. Alicia says:

    *hugs* Feel better, take your time, grieve how you need to. Gunky can wait. (and so can we)

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Thank you.

      It’s a small local family-run business and we’re all pretty tight-knit and he was one of the two brothers who run the company. So the office was pretty quiet today. And we’re going to be closed for a few hours on Monday so everyone can go to the funeral – his church is just down the street from the office. I’m on vacation this week though.

      I want to do something, and writing is what I have to give. I have yet to send my boss a message – I will write one tomorrow and hopefully I can log in to my work email on a Saturday.

      Like

  6. Anonymous says:

    *lots of hugs*

    Like

  7. DB loves her Mac says:

    Hugs to you… loss is never easy. Take your time and create a message/tribute that expresses what you feel.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Thank you. (((hugs))))

      The funeral is tomorrow – didn’t go to the viewing tonight but I will be at the funeral tomorrow. And then having the week off to get through it without seeing his office every time I turn around should help.

      Like

  8. Amelia says:

    Oh, yikes. That’s awful. Though I’m sure the mood you’re in can make a pretty good chapter of 10 as well as relieve that hole in your stomach. A fantastic more depressing piece is far better than a forced-upon-you funny piece when nothing seems funny right now.

    Take your time.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Thank you – and that was sort of my thinking too. I am starting to feel a bit better – another coworker actually had her baby that night, so that helped to reinforce what my mother always says about death being just another part of life.

      I’m getting through it, and I love all of you. *hugs*

      Like

  9. kaldresh says:

    Big hugs, Misty – I’m so sorry to hear it. Take all the time you need – we’ll still be here when you feel up to it.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Thank you, and big hugs back at you.

      And I will come back – my days of abandoning projects are over. I’m starting to feel better. I’d like a Gunky update by Wednesday in time for advertising on simstorytellers, but we’ll see how it goes.

      I very much appreciate you guys, and it’s definitely helping to know that I have cool awesome friends. 🙂 ((((hugs))))

      Like

  10. Mariia says:

    Aw =(
    I’m so sorry.
    But, I’m happy that I might see Ten coming back!! =)
    *hugs*

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Haha. 🙂 Thanks, for the hugs and the smile.

      And oh yeah – I never meant to abandon Ten – even if I wrote non-Sims Valley first I was going to come back to Ten when I finished that, even if it took several years. I started on a draft a while ago so I have notes and a beginning to work from.

      Like

  11. Rad says:

    Oh my. That’s awful. Big hugs to you and all your colleagues xxxxx

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Thank you.

      I don’t know why it was a surprise. He’d had cancer for a while and then a few months ago it came back and he’d been working from home for quite some time. I delivered his mail and paperwork to his house twice a week, and a couple of weeks ago there was something that needed to be signed that day. He and his wife were outside when I drove up and I hung out with them for a bit while he signed stuff, and I really should have known then. He was so different.

      Like

  12. helenpaige1 says:

    Wow I am so sorry. I’ll pray for you and all of your coworkers.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Thank you.

      *hugs*

      I can’t express how much you guys mean to me and how it helps to know that I’ve got all these great friends, even if we’re separated by hundreds and thousands of miles. I love you all very very much, and I promise to do my best to keep entertaining you. 🙂

      Actually just playing the game at the moment – haven’t done that in a while. It’s nice and relaxing.

      Like

  13. Jessie says:

    I wish there was something I could say that would not be a repitition of what was said above. *hugs* My sympathy to you and your co workers honey.
    I’m not sure that this will help, but it will explain my next question: I personally deal with grief by having a good cry and then turning my mind to something else. With that in mind, could you sum up for me how Twallan’s mods are useful game wise? In short simple easy to understand terms? I read his descriptions and my brain tries to shut down. I cant process how it applies. BUt I know you use them…or did I guess…or maybe I am thinking about someone else….Either way, if you think this question in appropriate dont worry about it. Still, my heart and thoughts are with you and yours.

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      It’s hard to make me think that something is inappropriate.

      Thank you, and I really appreciate it. Going to go get ready for the funeral soon – it’s not until one but I imagine it’s going to be packed so we’re going early.

      I just looked up Twallan’s story progression mod last night after actually playing the game for a bit. I have it downloaded but haven’t installed it yet. And the only mod I use is the chaos mod painting and I can’t currently get it to work – I imagine there’s some file I need to move to get it to work with HELS like I did with WA. So yeah, all the Gunky pics are completely natural. Which hey, that works for the feeling of Gunky.

      So umm – I guess I could say that just from looking at the post about the story mod progression it looks like it adds a lot of features and functions that EA left out. It reminds me a lot of the dearly departed Indie Stone Mod story progression hack. And that’s all I’ve got at the moment, sorry.

      I’ve really enjoyed just playing the game, but I think I might fire up the Emo!Teen Seth playlist and look at the draft of 10.02 today. It needs a massive rewrite, I think, but then I spent like eight hours on one paragraph in the first chapter. And, perhaps as a result of that, it’s the only thing on this blog from the Valley era that doesn’t make me cringe with shame. So I am quite prepared to spend eight hours on one paragraph again.

      Like

  14. I am so sorry, and please take all the time you need before revisiting Gunky. We’ll all be here =D

    *hugs*

    Like

    • medleymisty says:

      Thank you.

      Got back from the funeral a while ago. I cried a fair bit. And edited one of the sermons in my head – like I was crying and trying to unobtrusively wipe my nose while also thinking “Umm, dude, you should have just left it at ‘those that are lived’ and deleted the rest of the words in that sentence.”

      Yeah, I’m a writer all the way down to the bone marrow.

      Then I went back to the office and signed the three cards and told John to put some money in the envelope for his memorial – a donation to a scholarship fund. I think signing the cards helped.

      I think that right now I may just play the game some more – went to France last night but I still haven’t been to China and I think last night someone rolled the wish to go there. And then, after that – then I will write.

      Thank you, again. And *hugs* back at you.

      Like

  15. sleepypie1212 says:

    Oh, no. I’m so, so sorry! This must be so hard…I’ll be praying for you all. Feel better…

    Like

Leave a Reply

