Inside the Walls

02-02-17_7-45-58-pm

I am safe inside the walls, and the sun cannot get to me.

Hello, Anya. Earlier today the computer chair was in shadow for a time, and I read your letter. I had to read it quickly and then get away before the shadows were eaten by the teethlight. I should move the desk away from the window.

I am glad that your sun does not think that you taste good enough to eat.

what does the spellchecker even know about art?

Living with another person is a very odd thing. I do not know what I should say about it.

Sometimes she is next to me and she is warm and I feel her breathing, and that helps me breathe too. Sometimes she puts her arms around me and rests her head on my shoulder, and she blocks out the sun.

Other times she is too bright and her voice is too loud and her skin hurts me.

The word making bits of my brain are very delicate

Do chairs have heartbeats? They used to be trees. I listened to one of the dining chairs for a while. It never made a sound. I think it’s dead.

There are no plants here for me to use to test your hypothesis about the trees and flowers eating the sun. There are only things that used to be plants.

Anyway, if I did have a plant I would have to go outside to do a proper test. That is not possible right now.

My doors stand guard against the sun.

for real, to make the words I have to be healthy, have enough calories, have had enough sleep, be clean, etc.

My doors are always here, and they are always where they should be.

I know. I check on them.

If your doors come when things are going to go wrong, and my doors are always here, then perhaps things are always going to go wrong here.

I don’t mean that things are always going wrong. I am safe inside the walls. I mean that it’s possible that the apartment exists in a bubble of spacetime where things are always going to go wrong, but they never quite do, because I don’t open the doors.

Sarah opens them sometimes, though. But I always stay in the shadows when she does that, and the wrongness doesn’t reach me.

our sun is middle-aged

Maybe your sun eats the flies and birds and earthworms.

I saw a spider in the sink recently. I watched it for a while. It spun itself a little gossamer home. The strands of its web shone in the light that streamed through the windows. The spider seemed to be happy.

There are flies here sometimes. One got caught in the spider’s web. The spider paralyzed it, wrapped it up neatly, and then went off to sit in the sunlight for a bit.

Sarah saw the web then, so I did not get to see the spider vomit digestive juices on the fly and consume it.

Do you think that maybe my sun is a giant gas spider, and that it catches its prey in a web of photons?

so maybe it's going through a mid-life crisis

What do the languages that you can’t read in your encyclopedia look like?

There are no secret corners here in the apartment. When there is dust, Sarah finds it and she vacuums it up.

I sit in the notsecret corners sometimes. I don’t have anything else to do. I listen to the clock ticking. I watch the dust motes fall through the sunbeams. I hope they enjoy it. I don’t know if the sun would want to eat dust.

The walls keep me safe.

I do miss my work. Thank you for understanding.

Where were you before you came through the door to your house and its many gardens?

I miss my garden most of all.

I get the feeling that this chapter wants to be named The Walls or something

The wallpaper here is a light green, like the inside of a hospital or a juvenile detention center.

Do you have a bed or a couch? I don’t imagine that sleeping on the floor would be comfortable.

I have both. I sit on the couch sometimes.

There is always someone watching me. Even when Sarah is at work or out buying groceries. There is a plaque on the wall with the face of the man who lived here before, and he watches me.

I don’t know if I agree with you that it’s better to have someone watching. You have the emptiness pressing down on you, but I have their eyes pressing down on me. Perhaps it’s impossible to escape pressure of some sort, and the question is which sort of pressure you can stand.

I am content locked inside my skull. What worries me is when the people who are watching you make you a container for the things that are locked inside their skulls.

The walls protect me.

I can't write worth shit

I don’t know anything about cooking. Sarah does, though. Sarah is a very good cook.

I try to not be around when she opens the refrigerator door, just in case. Its light is not the same as the light of the sun, but I still feel it tasting me.

If you are what you eat, I taste like expertly crafted very flavorful and delicious concoctions of love and despair with hints of anger, garnished by a bright white loneliness.

also I stepped on something sharp on the way to the kitchen

If you tell me what ingredients you have available, I might be able to ask her for suggestions. She would probably like that.

I hear her knife scraping against the cutting board as she makes dinner. It’s too loud and too sharp and its edges hurt.

and now my foot hurts and also there's a bit of blood

I can’t get away from the scraping. The apartment is small, and I can hear it everywhere. Even in the notsecret corners.

Should we assume that we are both real? Should I assume that Sarah is real?

I don’t suppose we could proceed otherwise, as you say. Even if we aren’t real we are where we are, and we have to deal with that. I still have to hear the scraping, whether it’s real or not.

I don't know what happened

She keeps scraping and scraping. I wonder what we are having for dinner.

She didn’t ask me what I wanted. She knows I won’t answer.

What would you want for dinner if you could have anything? I can’t decide if I would want parmesan parmesan or the shrivelled hearts of my enemies. I wonder if I brought home a shrivelled heart, would Sarah cook it for me?

This is why I don’t answer her. There’s only so much pressure from eyes watching me that I can stand.

epic, and so cool

Finally the scraping stops. Now she’s put whatever she was scraping in a pan. I hear it sizzling. The sizzling is not as sharp as the scraping.

Does the house where you are have electricity? What sort of appliances are there? This is important for figuring out what you can cook.

Obviously you saw my profile on the computer, but I have learned to never assume things. It’s possible that you have a laptop with a charged battery, but that the house itself is not receiving power. Especially if it is located in a crater and it has gardens that fade in and out of existence.

my spousal person is making dinner right now, actually

Do you think that the sun can be bottled up? I don’t know what your sun is, but my sun is a giant sphere of nuclear reactions with a circumference of 2.7 million miles and a surface temperature of 10,340 degrees.

One reason why Sarah likes cooking is that it helps her feel like she can control the fire. The burners on her stove are much smaller and cooler than the sun, but she can set them at whatever temperature she desires and turn them on and off at will.

Sometimes I wake up in the night, from dreams of the fire, and I feel like I’m still burning. She puts her arms around me, but she can’t always block it out.

She doesn’t like fire that she can’t control.

huh

She turns the oven off. I hear her set a plate out on the counter. The smell tells me that we are having tacos tonight. I leave the notsecret corner.

She says, “Seth? Dinner’s ready.”

I hear her, like you say you hear me, and for now I will assume that she is real, and I will sit with her and I will eat her tacos.

After dinner the sun should have disappeared, and I can send you this letter.

I am safe inside the walls.

This entry was posted in Emo Pistols and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Inside the Walls

  1. cathytea says:

    Seth and Anya seem like good pen pals. This letter feels poetic and sad to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. RipuAncestor says:

    I think I especially liked the screenshots in this. Yay for making everyday objects poetic! I also like how Seth is being actually sort of friendly towards Anya, even though he isn’t having the best of days.

    Liked by 1 person

    • medleymisty says:

      Yay I’m glad you liked it! It wasn’t too much of a rip-off of Surreal Darkness, was it? It’s just Anya’s pics were all of the exterior and interior of her house, so I thought Seth should match that in his reply. Especially right now when he’s retreated inside both himself and the apartment after the incident at the therapy session.

      Well, he has no reason to be unfriendly towards her. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • RipuAncestor says:

        I think there’s a very different feel to Surreal Darkness than to this one. In Surreal the pics are more focused on the bigger things and the landscapes and such, with the occasional focus on the smaller things, whereas here it was mostly just everyday objects. So I didn’t get a rip-off feel from it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. SoulGal7 says:

    I love reading this story and the response to Anya. And love the pics of the everyday activities and Seth’s response to them. I hope that Seth can find a way to bottle up the sun and not live in the shadows forever. Who knows – maybe one of his doors will lead him to Anya.

    Like

  4. I like the fluidity of this letter, and how the words flow like poetry. This was by far my favorite line, “If you are what you eat, I taste like expertly crafted very flavorful and delicious concoctions of love and despair with hints of anger, garnished by a bright white loneliness.” It says so much about who Seth is and his rich inner thought life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • medleymisty says:

      Yay thank you! 🙂 I was kind of picking up on Scribal Goddess and her style with Anya here. Cross pollination. 😉

      I think that in that line he’s talking about Sarah’s feelings. In the letter I’m writing right now, it’s more explicit, but yeah, he can taste Sarah’s thoughts and feelings and experiences in the food that she cooks for him.

      Of course it is also a good description of his own feelings, and who knows how much of that is Sarah picking up on his stuff? It’s cross pollination all around for everyone. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.